Posted by: Helen Gobble | August 12, 2011

Appalachian heritage

The Best Part of Me

I’ve walked her deepest valleys, climbed her highest mountains,
Sat by her streams, dreamed her dreams, and sung her songs.
In the cold of her winter I felt her shiver
But the thaws of her springtime warmed my bones.
Oh you could never take her from me, she’s too much a part of me and
My Appalachian heritage is still the best part of me.

Her summer sweat stood on my brow, dripped on her soil behind the plow, And through the years I have become a part of her you see.
And her golden autumn splendor frames a picture to remember and
My Appalachian heritage makes up the best part of me.

I have studied in her classrooms, worked beside her heroes,
Worshiped in her churches, stood in awe of her God.
And if I ever leave my valley I know I’ll carry with me …
My Appalachian heritage still coursing through my veins.
And you can never take her from me, she’s too much a part of me;
My Appalachian heritage is still the best part of me.
~~.~~
From Bits and Pieces and More by Helen Gobble, p. 34

Responses

  1. I remember standing in the open plains of North Dakota, and missing the ring of mountains that frames my world. Appalachia is much more than a spot on a map. It is a mindset and a condition of the soul. I love my home. I also love the way my Mom’s poetry brings the flavor of home to me wherever I happen to be.


Leave a Reply

Categories

