Posted by: Helen Gobble | November 22, 2011

Thanksgiving Greetings

Hope you have a nice Thanksgiving, and somewhere along the way take time to think about this little poem:

Thank God For Dirty Dishes

Thank God for dirty dishes;
They have a tale to tell.
While others may go hungry,
We’re eating very well
With home, health, and happiness,
There is no need to fuss;
By the stack of evidence,
God’s very good to us.
Author Unknown

And now we are coming to Christmas, the biggest holiday of the year, and I would like to go back to the evening I had my book signing at the Bristol Public Library. My daughter Sarah introduced me, and she told my friends who had gathered there about searching several times trying to find the author of a little Christmas poem that she remembered from childhood. She said that she had searched the Internet looking for the poem, but had been unable to find it anywhere. Then, as she began typing my manuscript into her computer, there the familiar poem was, right in front of her! She had not shared this story with me before, and I was thrilled to know that she had remembered and searched for one of my poems.

That poem appears now on page 2 of Bits and Pieces and More. Here is the poem she was searching for:

Wonder!

We find a wondrous story in the pages of God’s Word
I’m sure the oxen wondered at the things they saw and heard.
For it was in a stable a little child was born,
The Light of heaven’s glory a stable did adorn.
And shepherds came and found Him, the Child so sweet and fair.
I’m sure the oxen wondered as the scene unfolded there.
For I was filled with wonder when I was made to know
That God would not have sent Him if He hadn’t loved me so.
Helen Gobble, Bits and Pieces and More

Responses

  1. Our lives are all so full of your wisdom and our speech so colored by your turn of phrase. People might wonder about us, sometimes. But it never surprises them that we are your children. Thank you for investing so much of yourself in me. I am the better for it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

